New Year, New Books to be Read

As most book lovers, I am constantly getting book recommendations, suggestions, and advice from fellow readers, friends, and family. My room is literally overflowing with books, everything from Y.A novels, to classic novels, to poetry anthologies, and much more.

In my attempt to keep track of my 2011 “To Be Read” list, I thought I’d share my upcoming books. I will *try* to review (or at least mention) each book that I read, but it might not happen.

Also, GoodReads (my absolute favorite site) is encouraging readers to enter their 2011 Book Challenge. I’ve set my own personal goal at 60 books, which is about 20 or so more than I read last year. You can see my own reading challenge here if you’d like to see what I’ve read so far this year. Below are some books that are on my list (in no particular order).

Genna’s 2011 To Be Read Shelf:

1) The Valley of Horses by Jean M Auel [Finished 1-15-11]
2) The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
3) Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
4) Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg
5) The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
6) The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
7) Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
8 ) House of Sand and Fog by Andre Dubus III
9) Atonement by Ian McEwan
10) The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
11) A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
12) Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
13) The Shack by William P. Young
14) Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
15) Across the Universe by Beth Revis [Finished 1-19-11]
16) Matched by Ally Condie
17) Great Philosophers Who Failed at Love by Andrew Shaffer
18) Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Additionally, Jonathan Langford has sent me a copy of his new book, No Going Back, to review. As soon as I’m done reading, that will be posted under “Reviews” so please be on the lookout for that!

What are you planning on reading this year? Please share! Good luck in your endeavors!

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

9 responses to “New Year, New Books to be Read

  1. Hey Genna!

    Will you be reviewing each of these books as you finish them or do you not know yet? I would be interested in hearing your thoughts on The Poisonwood Bible and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn if you are!

    -James
    http://shortstoryaddict.wordpress.com

  2. Genna Sarnak

    Hey James!

    Thanks for stopping by! The answer is (mostly) yes, I do plan to review the majority of the books on my list above at some point. I have heard great, great things about the two you mentioned, so I am looking forward to reading them very soon! Are you reading anything good at the moment?

    • Genna,
      I just read a couple of stories from Great Short Stories of the Masters that I enjoyed a bit, bit I wish I had more time to check it out. I have a new Kurt Vonnegut book, Look at the Birdies, that I am looking forward to reading from soon! I have really liked And Thereby Hangs a Tale by Jeffrey Archer as of late.

      -James

  3. Yay! I like your reading goals! I thought about writing book reviews (I had another blog titled “reading makes me happy”) but I just loved devouring the books and couldn’t seem to catch up on the reviews! heehee!
    I hope you have more discipline than I did to get these reviews written! Handmaid’s Tale is one of my major influences, and began my love for dystopias (AND it was such a great novel to crit for my feminist literary theory class in college).
    Thank you for sharing!

    • Genna Sarnak

      Thanks for the comment, Liza. It’s certainly challenging, but also really fun! I am really looking forward to The Handmaid’s Tale, it’s been on my list for so long and I’ve heard such great things!

      Have a nice weekend 🙂

  4. THE VALLEY OF HORSES is a brilliant book! In fact, the entire series is brilliant! Have fun getting through your reading list!

    • Genna Sarnak

      Hi J.C.! Yes, it’s fantastic! I’m trying to read them all before the 6th one comes out, but I doubt I will b/c there are just too many books on my shelves to be read!

  5. Read Cutting for Stone next! It is AMAZING! Seriously, I loved it. I wrote a review on my blog!

Leave a Reply

