Poetry Sundays (4)

This week’s featured poet is Matthew Haughton.

I had the absolute honor of receiving his anthology, Bee-Coursing Box from a Goodreads giveaway and I’m so glad that I did!

Haughton’s poetry is beautiful in its honesty and formation. I was thoroughly impressed with the power each succinct poem was able to pack into it. Within any given anthology, I usually have one or two staple favorites, but I truly found each poem in Bee-Coursing Box to be as wonderful as the next!

Haughton’s respect for nature and his reverence of “the work of the living” are evident in his expertly crafted poems. There is a delicacy to his words, a magnificent straddling and tenderness of juxtaposing subject matters, ranging from losing loved ones, birds, and tobacco, to worker bees, porch conversations, and the Pastor of Apples.

One of my favorite poems in the collection is “Inside a Box” featured below:

Inside a Box

Inside I find a baseball glove,
old photographs
and love letters,
books-
so many books,
mostly fantasy stacked along
the outer edges.
What did I expect to find?
Things that can’t be thrown
away: souvenirs
from Europe,
a collection of rocks
from an old flower bed.
I can tell you what wasn’t
there.
I spent the morning looking
for hair clippings
or clothes-
something to touch
or smell,
something pulled
from inside,
resembling the shape of a man.

You can buy Bee-Coursing Box here.

*Do you have a favorite poet and/or poem?*

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “Poetry Sundays (4)

  1. Eli

    e. e. cummings is my favorite! A more contemporary favorite however would be Billy Collins who was the U.S. Poet Laureate from 2001-2003.

    I like the simplicity of this poem, and the sense memory it invokes.

Leave a Reply

